Hanging by a thread

I seem to spend a lot of time trying to figure out spiders. Maybe it goes back to my very favourite child’s book, Charlotte’s Web. It was one of the few books I owned, as we were big subscribers of the library. Charlotte’s Web taught me about courage and the idea of being lost in a book. I know that books where animals talk are considered Fantasy, but for me, it was not a stretch to believe the animals had those types of thoughts. One of my very best friends growing up was the dog next door and I talked endlessly to him. I was confident he not only heard me, but understood me.

The only other book I remember owning was Harriet the Spy. I took notes about everything all the time. I wasn’t bothered by being on my own as it gave me time to observe others and I was sure that I knew everything about everybody. When Kyle began to read, he loved Encyclopedia Brown and I felt that series was his Harriet the Spy. And Laura has always loved writing in journals, just like I did and still do. There’s nothing as inspiring as a new notebook.

This particular grouping of shots came out of over a hundred shots and close to an hour of me standing around a couple of spider webs watching them being built. The number of flies already caught in one was phenomenal. And the size of the spiders was shocking. The fact that I had to get so super close to them was not the most comfortable thing I’ve ever done, but I was truly fascinated by the intricate work and detail.

And just for a change, I took a couple shots of flowers.

Enjoy! 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One Reply to “Hanging by a thread”

  1. Lovely thoughts and photos. Especially enjoyed the connections you make to books. Thanks for ending with the beauty of flowers after the more challenging “beauty” of the spider close-ups.

Leave a Reply

