How did it get so late so soon?

How did it get so late so soon?
It’s night before it’s afternoon.
December is here before it’s June.
My goodness how the time has flewn.
How did it get so late so soon?
~Dr. Seuss

Tomorrow, at a truly insane early hour, my daughter leaves to return to university. Today will be akin to very slowly tearing off a firmly stuck on band-aid. It will hurt. Unlike the band-aid, though, I will not be glad that the experience is over. It will be months before I see her in the flesh. Get close enough to steal a hug. How did it get late so soon?

I am blessed with two incredible, capable, loving children. They are really nice people who bring laughter and lively conversation into my world and the worlds of everyone with whom they share their lives. It has been wonderful having my daughter home for 18 days, and my son joined us for a week which truly deepened the experience for everyone.  But suddenly, it has gotten late. Late into this visit.

I think my daughter fears there were moments, hours even, that she wasted that could have been better spent, rather than doing mundane tasks.  What is wasted if you are living life? Taking care of the necessary details? We all need to remember that every moment does not have to be worthy of being photographed and put into a scrapbook. Those are memories to look at, but the real moments that matter can be in the times where you are just doing stuff. Taking care of the business of living. Relationships are not built on moments captured, but by moments lived together.

It has gotten late. And the time to go is nearly upon us. I am seriously sad and yet, I am confident that the best is yet to come for my daughter. Her adventures in life are always upon her and she truly does know how to seize those days, those moments. She values people and relationships and experiences. I feel we’ve done her well to model that for her.

So, off you go. Enjoy.

Ubuntu.

 

4 Replies to “How did it get so late so soon?”

  1. So well said Paula! Memories are worth making and life really is worth living! Both your kids are living their lives to the fullest. You should be so proud!

Leave a Reply

