Looking back

“To be able to look back upon one’s life in satisfaction is to live twice.” Kahlil Gibran

Every once in a while, I go back a year to see what photos I was taking on that date. Today, I was pleasantly surprised to find that a year ago today I took one of my very favourite shots.

All the great memories of that day came back as well. We had met up with my husband’s best friends from his childhood.  It had been years since they had all been together and much had happened in their lives. 

Later on, after everyone left, I headed down to the university to pick up my daughter. She was not quite ready so I took out my camera and took a few shots. My favourite one was actually from inside the car as I had taken shelter due to high winds and cold. I looked out the windshield to the most amazing sky. In fear that the clouds would move on before I could get out of the car, I took the shot. When I got out of the car, sure enough, the winds had begun to move and the sky began to clear.

This is still a cool shot, but the impact of the darker clouds made the difference I thought.

I moved the car closer to where my daughter’s residence was and took another shot out the car window. I love it as it caught her in her natural state – happy and full of energy.

3 Replies to “Looking back”

Leave a Reply

