….to eternity

For death is no more than a turning of us over from time to eternity. – William Penn

Today, a kind, wonderful caring man, Reverend Donald MacMahon, turned over from time to eternity. Reverend MacMahon was a great father, beloved grandfather and well-loved husband.

Thirty years ago, as I sat in a room awaiting the start of my wedding, Reverend MacMahon knocked on the door and asked to come in. He sat down next to me and said, “Dear, are you sure your invitations had the right date? There’s only about a dozen or so people out there.” He said it in the kindest way, trying to prepare me for what he thought would be a great disappointment. I took his hand and assured him that, including family and him, we were only expecting about 20. Reverend MacMahon stood up and said something about how the wedding ship was ready to sail.  The gift of calm was greatly appreciated that day by me, and without doubt, by others throughout his life.

DSC_1336

2 Replies to “….to eternity”

  1. Happy Anniversary! Its my 28th today, and I am off in a few moments to pick up my wife from the airport and recreate a bit of our honeymoon on the Olympic Peninsula!

Leave a Reply

