Baby, baby, baby….

It’s (mom)ents like this that making it all worthwhile…..working in special education is a gift that keeps on giving…..

I wish the government could be a fly on the wall to see how important educators are in the success of children. They need to see the difference appropriate levels of support mean.

writing in the (mom)ent

Yes, that’s a line from a Justin Bieber song. I hear that song every day, Monday to Friday. One of the students I support LOVES it. The student often bursts into song, singing loudly. At moments that some consider inappropriate. Like circle time, when the teacher is taking attendance or reading a book. Or in the washroom. Full blast. It was, actually, the first thing I ever heard the student say. Other times, when the student needs calming, I call it up on my phone and play it. Justin Bieber is one of my least favourite role models, but he is part of one of my most successful strategies: redirecting.

When I began working with this particular student, last September, the student was never in the classroom for more than 1-2 minutes at a time. There were rarely interactions in any way, verbal or otherwise, with other students or staff.

View original post 144 more words

Leave a Reply

