3 comments on “don’t give up

  1. Unfortunately, you are right. The government (and other provincial governments, too…..BC and NS come to mind) have abused their power in the name of dismantling labour rights for workers in favour of big business. We have come to learn this truth the hard way and many are tired and weary of the fight already. After suffering so many blows, what we need is a win of some sort to rally our spirits. Here’s hoping the Supreme Court decision is that win. It should be that win but, after all of the sneaky, underhanded things that have happened, I will dance in the street when I actually hear the news that we’ve won, clear and free. Until then, no EC from this man. No Ministry-sponsored AQs for this Teacher. Instead, 100% focus on my students and their families and my colleagues, too. They get all of me. The government gets nothing. They may take from me (sick days, taxes, wage freezes, etc.) but, I give them nothing willingly anymore. The government may have won this round but, they have lost my partnership due to their smarthiness. Thanks, Paula, for writing your blog post. I hear you, Sister, and am with you 100%, too. All the best as this all plays out.

  2. Well said! I haven’t forgotten 115 so this last round further deepened my resolve. I don’t know what they hope to resolve through further mistreatment of Ed workers. Doesn’t work for me. I do see that business as usual has returned for many however. Truly perplexing.

Leave a Reply

