13 comments on “Kensington Market

  1. Thank you.
    Yesterday while travelling through Kensington, I was again amazed at the amount of visual stimulation there is – everywhere there is a shot worth taking!

    Hopefully you can visit it again – the people watching alone is well worth your time.

  2. Great photos! I love this neighbourhood – it’s just 2 minutes away from my house. Pedestrian Sundays are especially fun 🙂

    • Funny my son’s roommate never liked pedestrian Sundays…not sure why but I imagine it makes it even busier than normal. They lived right across from where the garden car was parked last year so their stoop was often used for photo taking!

  3. The last time I was in Kensington, I was a part of a Heritage Toronto walk of the neighbourhood and there was a shady obnoxious fellow trying to enforce pedestrian Sundays by standing in front of traffic on Augusta. It was a Thursday evening.

    The first time I was ever there, I was leading a YorkU frosh group past Bellevue Square and was scolded from afar by a group of revellers who were discontent over the education system (that’s me being diplomatic in my word selection, by the way). Needless to say, the characters in Kensington alone are enough to keep me away.

    At the same time, in learning about its compelling and layered history, there is an aura to it that gets me every time. It really is a microcosm of the Canadian mosaic.

      • Perhaps it’s the more extreme of personalities I could do without then, lol. People watching is fun, I admit. Pick a spot and just take it all in.

Leave a Reply

